I was so proud …   1 comment

I was so proud of my President. Instead of anger and fear, he appeared calm and collected. He spoke about courage, not resorting to fear and hatred. He assured America that those who had attacked us were in the radical minority of Islam and we should not turn on our Islamic neighbors. I am a compassionate person. I was proud that America was not going down the road to revenge and hatred.

Until I began talking to Muslims online.

I mentioned I got my first computer after 9/11 in an attempt to become more knowledgable about the world, which for me and millions of others, had been turned upside down. Not being savvy about things online, I searched out ‘chat rooms’ to talk to people around the world. I wanted to know what others outside America felt about the attack.

I began a blog on Yahoo 360 as well. It was on Yahoo 360 that I met a man from Iran who responded very negatively to  a blog I wrote on the first anniversary of 9/11. I had written about the many different races and religions who had been among the vicitms. His reply was that Allah willed our downfall. And he personally prayed for America’s demise. Even if it meant innocent Muslims would die.

In a chat room for Orthodox Jews, where I was seeking guidance in interpreting some Old Testament scripture; a Turkish Muslim posing as a Jew engaged me in talking about the history of the Ottoman Empire. Still thinking he was a Rabbi, and loving history I was enjoying the talk until out of nowhere he started cursing me and speaking the most vile descriptions of what he would do to me, an infidel. When he mentioned what he’d do to my daughter and granddaughters (I’d not mentioned them at all) I logged off and went to the bathroom to throw up. I never used a chat room again. I felt raped.

I must tell you too, I have met some very kind and very caring Muslims online. One lady is Awi, who is a convert to Islam from the Philippines. She lives in Egypt and since the Revolution I have not heard from her or my other friend Hosni who is also in Egypt. I find it worth noting, that I found true friends of those in Egypt, one of the more ‘westernized’ Muslim nations in the mid east.  Most Islamic countries do not allow the internet, especially for women. Hosni is an artist, Awi hopes to visit her family in the Philippines, that was the last I heard from her.

Why am I telling you all this?

America needs to wake up to the danger of what Islam really stands for. What their beliefs are, what they are praying for. If we don’t. We will wake up one day under sharia law and it will be to late. Am i still proud my country does not hate? I am proud of that, yes, but I am also ashamed that we will allow prayer in schools for Islamic children, but not for Christian or Jewish children. I am ashamed we have let those who want our destruction into our most sensitive agencies like Homeland Security, and our armed forces. Am I a bigot? No, I am a realist.

More in my next blog on why I do not trust Islam.

Posted June 10, 2012 by debrakcarey in Uncategorized

One response to “I was so proud …

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know you said you are going to talk more about the distrust in Islam in the next blog so I know I might be jumping the gun.

    You have read more and are more versed in a wide variety of things like this more so than anyone I know. So, I assume that you know the differences between the Sunnis and Shiites. It is the Shiites who want to kill the infidels and destroy America, but they make up a somewhat small percentage of the Islam community.

    The problem is that it isn’t easy to know the difference between the two by looking at them or talking to them unless they try to attack us. I don’t trust the Shiites at all and they themselves would say that I shouldn’t trust them. Since I can’t hardly tell the difference, then I am admittingly suspicious of muslims in general.

    I am with you on the prayer in school. I personally don’t feel like any kind of prayer should be allowed with the whole seperation of church and state thing, but that is a bit of seperate issue. If other types of prayers aren’t allowed then by no and I mean no means should muslim prayer be allowed. Do you know when this started being allowed? I think you can guess why I am asking.

    I think their is another thing that we should be ashamed of with the way our country has treated the religion of Islam.

    In 1952 President Truman established one day a year as “National Day of Prayer”. In 1988 President Reagan designated the first Thursday in each May as the “National Day of Prayer”.

    In 2009 President Obama canceled the 21st annual National Day of Prayer. His reasons for doing so was “not wanting to offend anyone”. Then on Sept. 25, 2009 held “A National Day of Prayer For the Muslim Religion”. He held this event on Capital Hill from 4am to 7pm. He had over 50,000 Muslims there that day and he prayed with them.

    Yes we should be concerned with the Islam nation and the fact that our president is putting them before us.

Leave a Reply

